268 Great Directors: Jerry Lewis

“I’m a multi-faceted, talented, wealthy, internationally famous genius. I have an IQ of 190 — that’s supposed to be a genius. People don’t like that. My answer to all my critics is simple: I like me. I like what I’ve become. I’m proud of what I’ve achieved, and I don’t really believe I’ve scratched the surface yet.”


What Got This Director Here?
: I’ve never really noticed his directorial career and I have a feeling I wasn’t the only one.

My Favorite Past Experience Was…: Does That’s My Boy or King of Comedy count?

What Did I Watch: The Ladies Man.

Where Does He Fit: The Ladies Man is like if Alfred Hitchcock was less droll in his humor. Both this and, say, Vertigo, are very precisely crafted works of art that feel oddly commercial despite exploring weird parts of the psyche and going full tilt in looking straight on at the terrifying, primal misogyny of the protagonists, rendered even more insane here by the fact that our director stars and is thrown right into a beautiful apartment set that is loaded up with women. I don’t believe in just giving credit for acknowledging that you are indeed a misogynist, but this deserves credit for making it so damned funny, especially when Jerry Lewis ruins his genuine good looks with faces that wouldn’t appear natural in a cartoon.

the-ladies-man-set

Most Valuable Asset: Rampaging ids are funny.
Most Excited For: Does Day the Clown Cried Count? If not, Nutty Professor.
Did They Deserve a Spot?: Hmm. Need to see more, but definitely someone of note and talent.

Coming Up Next: We start the directors who made the 21st Century portion of the site’s lists with Fernando Meirelles.

Leave a Reply

