254 Great Directors: Darren Aronofsky

“I try to live my life where I end up at a point where I have no regrets. So I try to choose the road that I have the most passion on because then you can never really blame yourself for making the wrong choices. You can always say you’re following your passion.”


What Got This Director Here?
: People really love his style.

My Favorite Past Experience Was…: Black Swan.

What Did I Watch: Requiem for a Dream. (No, I hadn’t seen it. Just Black Swan and The Wrestler.)

Where Does He Fit: Requiem for a Dream is really just Reefer Madness with incredible style. I cannot deny that the editing and style is tremendously powerful. Ellen Burstyn’s monologue really does devastate, but sadly, it’s her primary moment of humanism. It’s impossible to argue that Aronofsky uses his tools poorly, with the highs and lows of drugs being shown to such extremes in a way that is justified and can blend the form/content in a way that works neatly. The final montage that’s a descent into hell is so visceral, however, that you have to wonder why. Marlon Wayans vomits, Jennifer Connelly gets shouted at to cum, Ellen Burstyn is electrocuted, and Jared Leto gets an arm amputated all at the same time. Do you need to see that?

requiem_primary

Most Valuable Asset: Eisenstein-style editing.
Most Excited For: The Fountain.
Did They Deserve a Spot?: Sure.

Coming Up Next: Funnyman Alexander Payne.

Leave a Reply

