244 Great Directors: Danny Boyle

“What I’ve always wanted to do is to try and make it look like $100m but it doesn’t cost that – I find that really liberating.”


What Got This Director Here?
: Big hit in the 90s and Slumdog Millionaire did win BP.

My Favorite Past Experience Was…: 28 Days Later.

What Did I Watch: Sunshine.

Where Does He Fit: Danny Boyle’s aesthetic can be interesting, but I don’t trust my opinion of some of his works, and Sunshine sure feels like a lot of sound and noise with an aesthetic that doesn’t quite gel in my head. Alex Garland, meanwhile, takes a route that Ex Machina would follow in a few years, but to a much less warranted purpose. The third act that descends into violence is handled with much less grace thanks to the man in charge being a bit too fond of flashy camerawork. I just never cared about this crew and watched as they all died indifferently.

rs-140678-20140515-sunshine-x1800-1400169965

Most Valuable Asset: Hyper editing and flashy style.
Most Excited For: Trainspotting. (Yes, I’ve never seen it.)
Did They Deserve a Spot?: Not really.

Coming Up Next: Cultist Alejandro Jodorowsky.

Leave a Reply

