239 Great Directors: Christopher Nolan

“I studied English Literature. I wasn’t a very good student, but one thing I did get from it, while I was making films at the same time with the college film society, was that I started thinking about the narrative freedoms that authors had enjoyed for centuries and it seemed to me that filmmakers should enjoy those freedoms as well.”


What Got This Director Here?
: Dumb white dudes.

My Favorite Past Experience Was…: The Dark Knight, I suppose? (Inception, Dark Knight Rises, and Interstellar: yuck x 3.)

What Did I Watch: Following, his debut.

Where Does He Fit: I really did not need another movie about writers, and Christopher Nolan’s Following is just that, albeit for only an hour and with some very pretty looking black and white. This being in the Criterion Collection is purely about making money on their end from a NOLAN film, but I will say that despite the utterly pointless use of chronology and the banal plot, there’s a certain compellingness threaded into it that makes the grittiness and the rather diet stylings feel interesting in their own right. Still, it’s ultimately just another white dude menacing around seedy areas in a way that isn’t as interesting as Memento.

film_638w_following_original

Most Valuable Asset: Scrambling everything between truth and lies.
Most Excited For: The Prestige.
Did They Deserve a Spot?: No.

Coming Up Next: Monte Hellman, nondescript action man.

Leave a Reply

