238 Great Directors: Monte Hellman

“I like to work on a film where it’s continually opening up its secrets to me. I think any work of art, not just a film, is a mystery. I think it was Jean Cocteau who said it should reveal its secrets slowly.”


What Got This Director Here?
: Two Lane Blacktop.

My Favorite Past Experience Was…: N/A

What Did I Watch: Two Lane Blacktop.

Where Does He Fit: My love for Dumont’s Twentynine Palms is reflected in Two-Lane Blacktop, where absolutely nothing happens and it’s kind of amazing to watch. Everything is just about two blank faced guys and Warren Oates moving through America in a car with a loud engine. Atmospheres of different places thrum and can be fully absorbed. Things are totally spoiler proof, since scenes barely connect and just form a mood of the sense of travel across the States and dealing with someone annoying or something vague like that, I don’t know, chill out and look at the photography of the salt flats instead.

two1

Most Valuable Asset: Fordian poetry.
Most Excited For: Cockfighter.
Did They Deserve a Spot?: Maybe.

Coming Up Next: Forgotten French New Waver, Claude Chabrol.

Leave a Reply

