234 Great Directors: Francesco Rosi

“Terrorism is murder, and murder is not political.”


What Got This Director Here?
: Salvatore Giuliano. (Surprised he’s on here, as it’s not THAT acclaimed.)

My Favorite Past Experience Was…: N/A.

What Did I Watch: Salvatore Giuliano.

Where Does He Fit: Salvatore Giuliano is a weird one, with the conceit of having the titular character (a real life gangster) barely have any prominence but instead show the people he impacted through the history of Sicily’s problems is a compelling idea. I think the execution is successful, but I can already tell I’m going to need to rewatch this, as I admired it while it all totally went over my head. It’s so gorgeous looking that I think a big screen will be very conducive to what I’m looking for in this, with cinematography that cleverly hides people until it stops altogether.

salvatore-giuliano-4_lar2

Most Valuable Asset: Sacha Guitry goes to Italy.
Most Excited For: Hands Over the City.
Did They Deserve a Spot?: I kind of doubt it to be honest.

Coming Up Next: Avant garde Satanist, Kenneth Anger.

Leave a Reply

