231 Great Directors: Jonas Mekas

“In Lithuania, I am known as a poet, and they don’t care about my cinema. In Europe they don’t know my poetry; in Europe, I am a filmmaker. But here, in the United States, I am only a maverick!”


What Got This Director Here?
: A combination of some of his best works, but primarily the one I just watched.

My Favorite Past Experience Was…: N/A.

What Did I Watch: As I Was Moving Ahead…

Where Does He Fit: With a title like that, AIWMAIOSBGOB has an aesthetic that is frankly merciless to those who aren’t at least a little into the aesthetics of Brakhage, with Mekas’ entire life being distilled down to the countless volumes of footage he spent his whole life shooting, an addiction to being the man with a movie camera that makes his many years on Earth feel heavy. Those brief glimpses, as it turns out, make up nothing but four hours in the man’s time on this planet. What else is there? Hard to say. Everything about this is impossible to pin down, it’s so singular.

640full-as-i-was-moving-ahead-occasionally-i-saw-brief-glimpses-of-beauty-screenshot

Most Valuable Asset: Everything is shooting material.
Most Excited For: Reminiscences of a Journey to Lithuania.
Did They Deserve a Spot?: Possibly.

Coming Up Next: Documentarian D.A. Pennebaker.

Leave a Reply

