224 Great Directors: Giuseppe Tornatore

“It just came to me to take this atmosphere and put it into a story. For the next ten years, I made notes as ideas came to me. I interviewed many of the old projectionists in town for their stories, then I wrote the script. I always thought it was something I’d make after I made a name for myself, maybe as my fifth or sixth movie. After I finished my first film, my producer said to me “Don’t you have a passion project? Something you’re dying to make?” And I told him the entire story of Cinema Paradiso, right there. He was so touched that I decided to make it as my second movie.”


What Got This Director Here?
: Cinema Paradiso and that’s it.

My Favorite Past Experience Was…: N/A

What Did I Watch: Cinema Paradiso.

Where Does He Fit: Cinema Paradiso is pretty decent when it’s in the realm of pure fantasy, but the fact that so many people worship this movie is a little embarrassing to me in the same vein of certain other white male favorites. It’s a kid’s movie…until it is not. The titular theater shows such a wide variety of movies that realism is basically out the window from the get-go, especially with twee stuff like a kid saying “Christmas!” when asked what 5 x 5 is, but we still get a banal love story about class and careers and whatnot. I didn’t dislike it at all, but the broad acclaim…well, Roland Emmerich has called it a favorite. Enough said. This is playing to the rafters.

barrenlives1963

Most Valuable Asset: Fantasy.
Most Excited For: Uhhhh.
Did They Deserve a Spot?: No.

Coming Up Next: Star Wars sequel worker, Irvin Kershner.

Leave a Reply

