202 Great Directors: John Woo

“I’m not a master; I’m just a hard-working filmmaker. I would like everyone to see me as a friend rather than a master.”


What Got This Director Here?
: The Killer and Hard Boiled.

My Favorite Past Experience Was…: Only saw Hard Boiled, which I wasn’t crazy on.

What Did I Watch: The Killer.

Where Does He Fit: I wasn’t sure what to expect from The Killer, as I pretty much thought Hard Boiled was enjoyable but ultimately rather flat. The Killer, however, is gloriously pulpy and heightened, with all the nonsense and heavy handed metaphors serving as flimsy but functional bridges to some truly great action sequences. Admittedly, the first one is my favorite, but that shouldn’t take away from how thrilling the frames and shots of objects moving in all directions are. Sometimes it’s really satisfying to watch shit get blown up as risible dialogue gets uttered and hokey music plays. He should collaborate with Argento.

film_8w_killer_original

Most Valuable Asset: Everything is alive when it gets blown up.
Most Excited For: Face/Off.
Did They Deserve a Spot?: Maybe. Leaning yes, but I’ll need to rewatch Hard Boiled.

Coming Up Next: Humorous Harold Ramis.

Leave a Reply

