187 Great Directors: Tim Burton

“I’ll always remember this image of being in line to see “When Dinosaurs Ruled the Earth”, and all the younger kids were like, ‘Dinosaurs are so cool!’ and all the older kids were like, ‘Oh, man, I hear there’s this really hot babe in this movie!'”


What Got This Director Here?
: Mostly his two Ed movies.

My Favorite Past Experience Was…: Ed Wood.

What Did I Watch: Beetlejuice, which was also a rewatch since I was not watching his bad stuff.

Where Does He Fit: This post and the Linklater one got broken, so all I’ll say is that this film is strange and unusual in a way that is fun and works in a fun way. Definitely the best Hollywood mall movie we’d gotten in a while, I think? Also, yay for Sylvia Sidney finding second life as a mean old grinch!

beetlejuice

Most Valuable Asset: It used to be dark quirk before it got to be Too Much.
Most Excited For: Seen all the good stuff except Mars Attacks, which I felt the need to save up.
Did They Deserve a Spot?: Eh.

Coming Up Next: Djibril Diop Mambety, one of two breakthrough African directors.

Leave a Reply

