177 Great Directors: Joseph Losey

“I am frequently told that my films don’t make money. Since I have averaged one film a year for 30 years–some of them expensive ones–I can only conclude that somebody is making money.”


What Got This Director Here?
: The Servant and The Go-Between.

My Favorite Past Experience Was…: N/A.

What Did I Watch: The Servant.

Where Does He Fit: The Servant springs its trap on us so quickly that I have to wonder if I missed the foreshadowing all along regarding what the plans of the titular character were. Sure, we know that the master is a dimwit and his lady is a mean snob, but surely this wouldn’t end the way it just did? It’s so sudden, like if one of Jack Clayton’s studies of women turned into one of his horror pictures. Losey’s clearly a writerly director, but the black and white here lends a flatness and crispness to such an old fashioned estate, built on class and ready to be brought down by the same.

ser1963_bw_neg_ 045

Most Valuable Asset: Writerly suspense.
Most Excited For: The Go-Between.
Did They Deserve a Spot?: Sure.

Coming Up Next: Short film artist Maya Deren.

Leave a Reply

