154 Great Directors: Maurice Pialat

“I shall not fail to uphold my reputation. I am particularly pleased by all the protests and whistles directed at me this evening, and if you do not like me, I can say that I do not like you either.”


What Got This Director Here?
: Body of work as a whole.

My Favorite Past Experience Was…: N/A.

What Did I Watch: Naked Childhood.

Where Does He Fit: Naked Childhood owes a fairly big debt to The 400 Blows, but it’s much more joyless and lacking affectation: no music, no joyous passages, just a boy struggling to get attention in the foster care system. It practically feels like a documentary that happens to be taking place during the 1968 events in France, which makes it a useful time capsule of a rough time for a small boy. You get the sense that what is remembered is ultimately kind of banal for Pialat, but there’s still plenty of pain in how this movie just avoids all the answers via just showing what happens.

2326a8fc76b4d1fc62357770e98651e6

Most Valuable Asset: Realism, unaffected.
Most Excited For: A Nos Amours.
Did They Deserve a Spot?: Seems like it.

Coming Up Next: The solo work of the legendary Michael Powell.

Leave a Reply

