150 Great Directors: Robert Zemeckis

“I guess you can say, I have been remaking my student films forever.”


What Got This Director Here?
: Back to the Future mostly. (And unfortunately, Forrest Gump too.)

My Favorite Past Experience Was…: Back to the Future.

What Did I Watch: Who Framed Roger Rabbit, which I hadn’t seen in a very long time.

Where Does He Fit: I hadn’t seen Who Framed Roger Rabbit in what was nearing twenty years, so the renewed acquaintance reaffirmed that while Zemeckis’ cinema is mostly at its best when it is cartoony and kid friendly, he does it right, with Spielberg’s louder, more obnoxious bits turned into their own crazy vision. The movie lacks a question mark in its title because of superstitions, but it’s oddly fitting, with its decisiveness serving a black and white worldview that is a joy to watch on the technical level, with parodies and homages done right. I don’t think the director has greatness in him when dealing with history, but this is the best, roundabout way to do it, rather than trash like Forrest Gump.

roger-rabbit

Most Valuable Asset: Silliness.
Most Excited For: Uh…rewatches of the stuff I haven’t seen for a while? Maybe Allied or Romancing the Stone?
Did They Deserve a Spot?: Sort of. He’s too high, though.

Coming Up Next: Legendary loon Andy Warhol.

Leave a Reply

