116 Great Directors: George A. Romero

“I’m like my zombies. I won’t stay dead!”


What Got This Director Here?
: First two Of the Dead movies.

My Favorite Past Experience Was…: N/A.

What Did I Watch: Night of the Living Dead.

Where Does He Fit: Night of the Living Dead was quite the embarrassing omission in my viewing, but even with the public domain ravaging the prints, the film that I saw was a beauty, unsettling in how amateur it was. “You’re ignorant!” cries Barbara, but she has no grasp of irony (or a typical performance style), and when she winds up stuck with a black man in a house, the traumas all seem to be coming from every angle, with the radio blaring reports as he works to hole them up against the monsters. The allegory would undoubtedly develop as he tackled things further, but would anything else be so successful at it?

nightoflivingdead1

Most Valuable Asset: Allegorical atmospheres.
Most Excited For: Dawn of the Dead.
Did They Deserve a Spot?: I think so.

Coming Up Next: Terry Gilliam’s punk Python roots.

Leave a Reply

