98 Great Directors: James Cameron

“People call me a perfectionist, but I’m not. I’m a rightist. I do something until it’s right, and then I move on to the next thing.”


What Got This Director Here?
: Aliens, mostly.

My Favorite Past Experience Was…: Aliens.

What Did I Watch: The Abyss (director’s cut).

Where Does He Fit: The Abyss is the most James Cameron-y movie ever, to the point where it is kind of hilarious. Three hours of overcrowded ideas about technology, men hanging out with other men and one woman who fills the Hawks woman role, science fiction aliens, and dialogue that varies depending on who is selling it. Everyone is genuinely underwater and seems to hate it. You can feel every bump and sensation of being tossed around, and the breathing noises seem designed to wear you down. It all works, and even though the ending is problematic, I am relieved the wave sequence was salvageable.

the-abyss_still8

Most Valuable Asset: Action choreography.
Most Excited For: An Avatar rewatch, then True Lies.
Did They Deserve a Spot?: Sure.

Coming Up Next: Slow contributor Victor Erice.

Leave a Reply

