92 Great Directors: Jacques Rivette

“I have no relation with television. It’s not a willed refusal. First, because I’m never at home; there too, it’s a question of lifestyle. I have on occasion seen films on television at friends’ homes, and since I’m not used to it, I’ve always had the impression that I was not watching the film, that I was seeing something else, a reflection . . . It was not a real connection! I agree with what [Jean] Eustache says, television is great for a second viewing, but not for discovering a film. It’s a bit like seeing a film again on the editing table. And when I speak with people who’ve seen on television a film I saw earlier on the screen, I always have the impression that they haven’t seen quite the same film, but maybe that’s wrong.”


What Got This Director Here?
: Mostly Celine and Julie Go Boating/Out 1.

My Favorite Past Experience Was…: N/A

What Did I Watch: La Belle Noiseuse.

Where Does He Fit: Most of Jacques Rivette’s films sound like they were made on a dare, but La Belle Noiseuse manages to keep a series of quiet conversations engaging for four long hours. A miracle in its own right, but you also got a brilliant rendering of the artistic process that also seems like bullshit. Fitting, considering the muse in this case is such a hard woman to get a grip on for both the audience and the man at the center of the drawing. His orbit is filled with people who serve as contrasts and obstacles for what is a beautiful painting, and troublemaker, indeed.

960

Most Valuable Asset: Time and tricks.
Most Excited For: Celine and Julie Go Boating.
Did They Deserve a Spot?: Seems likely

Coming Up Next: Writer-director Joseph Mankiewicz.

Leave a Reply

