74 Great Directors: Leo McCarey

“I don’t know what my formula is. I only know I like my characters to walk in clouds. I like a little bit of the fairy tale. Let others photograph the ugliness of the world. I don’t want to distress people.”


What Got This Director Here?
: Make Way For Tomorrow/Duck Soup.

My Favorite Past Experience Was…: Make Way For Tomorrow.

What Did I Watch: Once Upon a Honeymoon.

Where Does He Fit: Leo McCarey taking on the war resulted in an incredibly weird blending of urgent war time messaging that feels like a Fritz Lang film (the Nazi clock in the opening in particular) and his usual comedic timing, with Grant and Rogers being a nice fit for this material (she has never looked better than she did in the opening scene, incoming Nazi marriage be damned). You have to wonder what it’s like to be married to a rich monster, but Melania Trump is giving no interviews and here, a radio star is coming to save the day. This is probably an interesting failure, but it’s so unusual that I say give it a look even if it works better as a collection of moments than something coherent.

once-upon-a-honeymoon

Most Valuable Asset: Fluff with an edge.
Most Excited For: An Affair to Remember.
Did They Deserve a Spot?: Yes.

Coming Up Next: Slow cinema pioneer Bela Tarr.

Leave a Reply

