73 Great Directors: Bela Tarr

“I have nothing to do with the filming community in Budapest. They don’t like me, because I don’t make conventional films. I can’t talk with them about films, because I live and think differently than them. They are film makers and I am not. I don’t know what I am.”


What Got This Director Here?
: Satantango.

My Favorite Past Experience Was…: Prefab People.

What Did I Watch: The Turin Horse.

Where Does He Fit: What if the world ceased to matter? Trick question, for we are all in that position, to a certain extent, stuck in the same rut as the two people and their horse in the center of The Turin Horse. We’re not really in Turin, we’re in some windblasted nightmare of a place that is killing everyone slowly and has already cost the older man the use of an arm. The minimalism is taken to insane levels, but the production design is deeply thought out, and that wind is as over the top as any Spielberg dinosaur or shark. Every frame is a painting that could kill you.

screen-shot-2012-11-02-at-1-17-51-pm

Most Valuable Asset: Long takes and bleak humor.
Most Excited For: Werckmeister Harmonies.
Did They Deserve a Spot?: Yes.

Coming Up Next: Crazy colorful Nicholas Ray.

Leave a Reply

