34 Great Directors: Roman Polanski

“If ever I see one of my films on television, I have a hard time sitting through it, because it seems like all the sins of youth. Truly, I don’t think I did my picture yet. I don’t feel like I did anything that was totally satisfying to me.”


What Got This Director Here?
: Chinatown.

My Favorite Past Experience Was…: Chinatown.

What Did I Watch: Carnage.

Where Does He Fit: Carnage is a fundamentally silly play (why not just leave the apartment?), but Polanski makes it appropriately amusing even if all the characters are just caricatures of bad people. It’s a deliberately closed off work that he takes advantage of as a fun exercise in giving four actors a chance to get hammy. Winslet is best in show by a long shot, getting to create a genuine person out of materials that make her look like a caricature of a businessman’s wife, but the other three are all fine. Still, it’s hard to wonder what to make of Polanski’s modern day career?

1akfccarnage

Most Valuable Asset: Prickly suspense.
Most Excited For: Knife in the Water.
Did They Deserve a Spot?: Yes.

Coming Up Next: Italian master of epics, Luchino Visconti.

Leave a Reply

